Registration Server Redundancy

Apr 9, 2012 at 8:38 PM

I apologize in advance, I am new to distributed computing and want to impart sufficient detail about the design of our system to make sure that

Background & Design:

We are an organization with a large number of system, build around a core OLTP system (which I will refer to as our Case Manage System), that works with entities we will refer to as Cases.

The case management system supports case life cycle management across a number of products for multiple clients, and is relatively extensible.  Its biggest short coming is that it has a number of legacy legacy clients, but no central service tier (clients include intranet portal for internal employees, internet portal for external users, and tablet devices for both internal and external users).  

Our business needs with in each product managed in the case management system vary greatly, and we have a number of ancillary sub-systems to extend the core case management capabilities for additional needs (document generation (letters & fax), report generation, real time export to client systems, telephony integration).

As we approach a systemic refactor of the clients participating in this case management platform, I would like to start building the central service tier we currently lack.  The general approach we would like to take is to build a cluster of service hosts (collectively known as the Case Action Controller)  that would receive a message from any of the case management clients at predefined events in the case life cycle, and forward that message to services that have subscribed with the Case Action Controller to receive specific messages (each of these known as Case Action Listeners).